PMBOK 5th Edition Processes

The PMBOK 5th Edition project management processes are grouped into five categories (Process Groups). They can also be further grouped into ten separate Knowledge Areas. These 47 processes are represented within the following table:

Knowledge AreasProject Management Process Groups
No.InitiatingPlanningExecutingMonitor / ControllingClosing
4. Project Integration Management64.1 Develop Project Charter4.2 Develop Project Management Plan4.3 Direct and Manage Project Work4.4 Monitor and Control Project Work
4.5 Perform Integrated Change Control
4.6 Close Project or Phase
5. Project Scope Management65.1 Plan Scope Management
5.2 Collect Requirements
5.3 Define Scope
5.4 Create WBS
5.5 Validate Scope
5.6 Control Scope
6. Project Time Management76.1 Plan Schedule Management
6.2 Define Activities
6.3 Sequence Activities
6.4 Estimate Activity Resources
6.5 Estimate Activity Durations
6.6 Develop Schedule
6.7 Control Schedule
7. Project Cost Management47.1 Plan Cost Management
7.2 Estimate Costs
7.3 Determine Budget
7.4 Control Costs
8. Project Quality Management38.1 Plan Quality Management8.2 Perform Quality Assurance8.3 Control Quality
9. Project Human Resource Management49.1 Plan Human Resource Management9.2 Acquire Project Team
9.3 Develop Project Team
9.4 Manage Project Team
10. Project Communications Management310.1 Plan Communications Management10.2 Manage Communications10.3 Control Communications
11. Project Risk Management611.1 Plan Risk Management
11.2 Identify Risks
11.3 Perform Qualitative Risk Analysis
11.4 Perform Quantitative Risk Analysis
11.5 Plan Risk Responses
11.6 Control Risks
12. Project Procurement Management412.1 Plan Procurement Management12.2 Conduct Procurements12.3 Control Procurements12.4 Close Procurements
13. Project Stakeholder Management413.1 Identify Stakeholders13.2 Plan Stakeholder Management13.3 Manage Stakeholder Engagement13.4 Control Stakeholder Engagement

(As this website is an ongoing work in progress, available content is hyperlinked. Where there are no hyperlinks in the table above, then the page for that process is still in progress – check back later for additional updates!)

A project is usually divided into several phases. The SAP ASAP roadmap recognises six separate phases in an SAP project lifecycle:  Project Preparation, Blueprint (or Scope Validation), Realization, Final Preparation, Go Live Support, and Operate.  Testing is usually associated with the Realization phase, alongside configuration and development, but there are some activities that fall under Final Preparation and even Go Live Support.

In my experience testing holds many of the characteristics of a mini-project (plan, prepare, execute, report, control), so for the purposes of this website we’ll look at Testing as it’s own phase and will attempt to draw parallels between the PMBOK 5th Edition processes and the various processes of an SAP Test Management phase.

Disclaimer**  Before starting, please be aware of the practical context of the processes within your own project and organisation.  The PMBOK 5th Edition processes are described as “good practice”, meaning that there is general agreement that the application of these processes has been shown to enhance the chances of success over a wide range of projects. This does not mean that all processes should be applied to all projects, sub-projects, or phases – for example, the planning and documentation required to support a post-go-live quarterly CR release will be very different from the planning and documentation required to support a full greenfield project test phase.  Where examples are given they should be read as examples of processes that worked well within the context of the project within which they were applied, and you may find that more or less (or even none) of the examples are relevant for your particular test project. As always, the project manager and test manager, in collaboration with their teams, should be responsible for determining which processes are appropriate for their test project and to what extent they should be applied.

The processes can be followed by clicking through the hyperlinks in the table above; the pages follow the Process Group flow as follows, so you’ll see the numbering jump around:

PMBOK Process Flow

Overlay of other test management methodologies:

ISTQB provides a formal test methodology. The advanced level syllabus describes seven testing activities within the test process:

  • Test Planning, Monitoring, and Control
  • Test Analysis
  • Test Design
  • Test Implementation
  • Test Execution
  • Evaluating Exit Criteria and Reporting
  • Test Closure Activities

These seven activities can be more or less laid over the PMI process groups and/or processes – it’s not a one-for-one match, but the details of each activity map fairly closely to one or more processes within PMI. I prefer to use the project methodology of PMI, but at a later point I might consider providing a mapping to show the overlay between PMI and ISTQB.


Previous Page - Test Management As A Project-Within-A-ProjectNext Page - 4.1 Develop Project Charter